Search Site
Menu
Drunk Driving

Fresno Lawyers Defend Against Charges of Driving Under the Influence

Protecting California drivers facing criminal penalties and loss of their licenses

Being charged with driving under the influence can have serious legal consequences. If you fail or refuse to take a sobriety test, your license is immediately suspended. If you’re convicted of DUI, you face fines, community service, jail time and other penalties, as well as long-term license suspension. It is important to have strong and capable counsel throughout the administrative and court proceedings involved. At Law Office of Robert C. Adams in Fresno, California, you will find an attorney who understands the difficulties that can result from a DUI and who can work toward a favorable disposition of your case.

Understanding DUI and its criminal penalties

In California, you can be charged with driving under the influence based on any of the following:

  • You have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent
  • You are a commercial or for-hire driver and have a BAC of 0.04 percent
  • You are under 21 years old and have a BAC of 0.01 percent
  • You are under the combined influence of drugs and alcohol

If you are convicted of a first offense, you could be jailed up to six months and fined $390 to $1,000. A driver convicted of a second DUI offense will face 96 days to one year in jail, as well as the fine, and on a third offense, the minimum jail term rises to 120 days and the maximum fine to $1,000. A conviction also carries a mandatory license suspension followed by other driving restrictions.

As your counsel, we will raise all possible defenses to the charges. Under certain circumstances, you may be able to plead down your DUI to the lesser charge of reckless driving. This results in less severe penalties and usually avoids suspension of your license.

Helping ease the hardship of license suspension

The amount of time your license can be suspended increases with each DUI conviction: six months for a first offense, two years for a second offense and three years for a third or subsequent one. If you refuse to take a blood or breathalyzer test, the suspension periods are one, two and three years respectively.

A DUI license suspension will be followed by a period in which you will be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your car. The IID period is six months for the first offense, one year for the second and two years for the third. Even during the suspension period, you may be able to get a restricted license, allowing you to drive for work and other necessities with an IID installed. We will analyze your case thoroughly and obtain the best solution for which you qualify.

Contact an experienced Fresno DUI attorney for effective representation

If you are charged with DUI, Law Office of Robert C. Abrams can offer immediate assistance. Call us at 559-431-9710 or contact us online. Our Fresno office is conveniently located at 5412 North Palm Avenue, just three blocks west of the Yosemite Freeway.

Contact us

Quick Contact Form